Bacon, Egg, & Avocado Corn Cakes

Seriously Delish, page 39

I wanted to love this recipe. I really really did. Poached egg, my favorite. Bacon, duh. Avocado, always. Artsy fartsy food styling factor, check. (how’d I do?)

DSC_0351

What it boils down to is these corn cakes. They just weren’t great. I think I need to try them again. The recipe calls for shallots and whole corn kernels to be added into a batter made from cornmeal, flour, eggs, and milk.  They were nice additions.  I really liked the flavor from the shallots.  The cakes themselves cooked up kind of like super thick pancakes.

Here’s the thing.  I don’t want to blame the recipe just yet.  I read on Serious Eats that I could grind my own cornmeal from popcorn.  I liked the idea of not needing to buy a whole container of cornmeal for one recipe, so I picked up a small amount of plain popcorn from the bulk food section of my grocery store, and tossed it in my blender.  It made an ungodly amount of noise, but in only a few seconds, I had cornmeal.  I think my problem here was that I didn’t grind it fine enough, and my corn cakes ended up alittle bit crunchier in some parts than I would have liked.  If I do try this again, I will grind the corn finer, and possibly sift it before using.

 

2 thoughts on “Bacon, Egg, & Avocado Corn Cakes

Leave a comment