Creamy Spinach & Spiced Chickpea-Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Seriously Delish, page 215

Up until a few years ago, I wasn’t big on sweet potatoes. I think because the only time I every tried them they were covered in marshmallow and overly brown sugared. Not that there is anything wrong with that…for dessert. I’m just not huge on the whole super sweet mixed in with my Thanksgiving thing.  That’s why I’m not into cranberry sauce either.

My first savory stuffed sweet potato was actually from the girls at Simple Green Smoothies.  I’ve made that recipe at least 4 or 5 times, which, if you know me, is a big deal.  I don’t usually do many repeats.

So, this sweet potato.  It starts with some sauteed spinach with garlic.  Add some coconut milk and chickpeas, and then spice it up with nutmeg, cardamom, and cayenne pepper.

DSC_0312

 

Then, obviously, toss the whole mess on a sweet potato.

DSC_0318

Jessica’s recipe called for baking the potato, but I microwaved mine, because I’m lazy.  Also, I’m not sure if you can tell, but that sweet potato above is quite possibly the largest sweet potato I’ve ever seen.  I ate half for dinner, and half for lunch the next day.

My initial reaction was I felt like the recipe lacked an acidic component.  I tried dijon mustard and red wine vinegar, but neither felt right.  As I was packing up the leftovers, I tried lemon juice, and that seemed to work.  A little bit goes a long way, but it just gave it that extra bit of brightness I thought was missing.  Overall, I liked it, even without the lemon, and I would definitely make it again.  It was the perfect way to use up some borderline spinach and the rest of the week’s chickpeas hanging out in my fridge.  Also, I had never used cardamom before, and new flavors make me happy.  I’m looking forward to new recipes to use it in.

 

Leave a Reply

